How to keep your computer cords organized

Do you get confused about which cords are which? I know I do. I’ve got my printer cords (2 of those), USB cords for my iPhone, the cords that are attached to some external speakers, and a few others. Accidentally pulling one out of my computer is something I’m all too familiar with. Working in a laptop store means I’ll spend a few minutes making sure a cord I’m about to pull is the right one so I don’t hurt anything.

I’ve discovered a few fun and cheap ways to figure out which cords are which so they stay organized and I don’t pull anything I shouldn’t.

1. Colored tape. This is probably the easiest and the cheapest. Buy a bunch of different colored electric tape rolls and wrap it around the cord and leave a little tag hanging out that you can label to make it easier to identify.
IMG_0364

2. If you don’t mind a more permanent solution you can buy a bunch of colored  zip ties to hold certain cables together and identify them by color.

3. If you eat bread, start keeping the annoying tags they use to keep the bag closed. Usually the tags fit nicely around smaller cords and you can write on them pretty easy
Image

4. If you don’t mind spending a little cash there are a ton of great organizers out there that you can buy:

cable organizer 1

MoMA Cable Organizers

cabledrop_cable_clips_3

CableDrop Cable Clips

cable turtle

Cable Turtle Cable Organizers

If you have a great idea for keeping your cables organized, let us know in the comments!

Leave a comment